top of page
Multi-Dimensional Mastery - September 2015 - Santa Fe

The 4 Sacred Seasons of Well Being

By Dr. Judy Scher


The 4 Sacred Seasons of Well Being refer to four distinct rhythms or periods during one’s journey in life. The 4 Sacred Seasons influence our states of consciousness and every aspect of our lives. We call these Seasons: Discover, Transform, Awaken and Integrate. In each season different influences, strengths, timings, and supports are available.


One of the key ways to access the unique strengths of each season is to live congruently, or “in season.” An analogy can be made to the four seasons in nature. When fruits or vegetables are “in season” they are ripe and their time to be harvested has arrived. If you harvest an apple in the spring it will be tart and inedible. But if you wait until autumn, when the apple is “in season,” it will be sweet and nutritious. So with the 4 Sacred Seasons, living “in season” supports a more effortless and productive life experience. Living “out of season” leads to disappointment, pain and struggle. This article will provide an overview of the 4 Sacred Seasons and how awareness of them can assist you to access the energy available for more graceful change and healing.

The Season of Discover explores the following questions: How have I protected myself from things that seem out of my control? How have I caused pain for myself or others in an attempt to disconnect or avoid a different kind of pain? How have I dissociated from parts of my body and life that are painful (“I’m fine, but my back is not.”)?


Your posture corresponds to your internal state. When your posture is in defense mode, it reflects the Season of Discover. Defense physiology occurs because at some time in the past your body was overwhelmed, and so it stored tension in your muscles, joints, etc. as a way to protect itself. Unfortunately, this “on” mode was never turned off because the body may not have had the resources. When your body is in this mode there is less energy available for healing, growth, or integration. This is why we often continue to have pain or a condition long after the original insult to your body occurred.

In the Season of Discover we tend to focus on what is wrong and we become “a victim of circumstance.” The good news is that in this season we also begin to see how we have created this state of victimhood in our lives.


In the Season of Transform we move into a place of personal responsibility. “Problem” and “blame” are concepts that are no longer useful in this season, and these are replaced by opportunities, goals, and deliberate action. We begin to see the source of your pain as a place of opportunity. In Transform, we take personal ownership for having re-enacted and sustained a defense strategy, for distancing ourselves from our authentic nature, and for contributing to our life’s patterns.


In this season your body begins to find a new way to redistribute the tension as stored energy of those old defense patterns that have been anchored in your spine and physiology. This allows for more effective communication throughout the entire system and helps create new possibilities for your bodymind. Without this suspension of the old defense patterns you will fall back into old ways of doing things. 


The Season of Awaken is about developing the powers of gratitude, awe and love, through the experience of an unlimited source of spacious energy and possibility. It is a state of effortless being and knowing. The undefended self experiences and remembers its authentic nature as it unfolds.  In the Season of Awaken your posture and physiology exhibit expansion of the chest wall and the heart begins to lead, instead of the head.


The last Season is Integrate. Integration happens when a person re-visits a previous season while still maintaining the developmental perspectives from another season, for example, approaching the traumas of Discover with the expansiveness of Awaken. This allows an individual to create a greater depth of experience through elements of more than one season at a time.


Learning to identify the Season that you are in, embracing it without judgment, and to fully explore its unique gifts, will allow you to access the grace of the 4 Sacred Seasons of Well Being.


Judy Scher, D.C. is Director of the Scher Center in Santa Fe since 1992. She is an international teacher, workshop leader, and keynote speaker. The Scher Center utilizes cutting edge reorganizational healing tools including Network Spinal Analysis Care. For more info go to

or call 505 989-9373.

Evolving Magazine

Santa Fe

Click to Read the Full

Santa Fe Edition!

Click to Read the Full

Kansas City Edition!

  • Wix Facebook page
  • Wix Twitter page
bottom of page